Skip to Content
Centre national des arts plastiques



Share Share Share Share Share

Psaume, Nicolas Boone

The Cnap Prize

july 06 2015

The Centre national des arts plastiques (the Cnap: the National Centre for Visual Arts) prize, created in 2015 in partnership with the FIDMarseille, seeks to reward a producer for a work arising from the area where fiction and documentary meet and mingle.

For the first year of this prize and at the invitation of the Cnap, the prize was awarded on july 6th 2015 by the artist Basma Alsharif to the film director Nicolas Boone for his film Psaume (Psalm).

Basma Alsharif, after a week of screenings and discussions with the five members of the panel of judges of the French competition, decided to make the award to a film “which is neither easy nor affirmative. It is a film that does not belong to any genre – a film that  snatches us up into its world and holds us captive, long after the closing credits. It is a work of cinema that takes risks by adopting a radical position in relation to its subjects, that leaves us speechless, or even in a state of shock. By making a fierce attack upon representation, this film forces to confront our own selves”.

This new prize continues and complements the activities of the Cnap which, through its support measures for producers of Image/movement, every year supports some twenty films committed to new writing and new cinematographic practices.

Psaume (48’, 2015) by Nicolas Boone

In the near future, the villages of a sub-Saharan region are deserted. Only the mad, the disabled and child soldiers continue to wander through these arid lands. In an atmosphere of survival, society is brutal.

Production: Tournage 3000, Paris in co-production with Ad Libitum
Duration: 48 minutes
Format: colour, scope, 5.1 sound, no dialogue
Assistant directors: Cheikh Djibril Fall, Romain Flizot
Artistic director: Laurent Bastien
Chief operator: Chris Vermaak
Chief editor: Philippe Rouy
Sound/mixing: Thomas Fourel, Antoine Bailly
Calibration: Yov Moor

With: Boubou Diaby, Bourama Thiam, Diaga Matar Fall, El Hadji Fofana, Mireille Niouky, Mamadou Sy, Birame N'dong, Matar Touré, Adji Diop, Omar N'dong, Idrissa N'dao, Birame Séne, Bigué Faye, Awa Touré, Billy Faye, Bassirou Lame, Ousmane Séne, Coumba N'dong, Fatoumata Keita, Séka Dièye, Abdou N'dong

Dernière mise à jour le 11 Feb 2016
14 Allée Léon Gambetta
13001 Marseille
locate on a map